Native Education

Award winner

Gala and Honouring Feast 2024

This year we look forward to celebrating the accomplishments  of our alumni and former board members. NEC will honour five people who are making a difference in the lives of Indigenous people. Award winners are highly respected, innovative, dedicated professionals in their career, volunteer or advocacy roles in the community. 

  • 00Days
  • 00Hrs
  • 00Min
  • 00Sec

Longhouse Award

This award is named after Lillian Prince. This award recognizes the unique contributions of an NEC employee that demonstrates love, kindness and longhouse values in their daily practice. These contributions support the safety and wellbeing of the Indigenous learner, and help build a sense of community on campus.

Community Service

This award is named after Wanda Bolton, a former NEC Program Coordinator who was a passionate advocate and teacher who continuously demonstrated excellence in community service. This award recognizes Indigenous leaders in the community who share their unique and important contributions.

Educational Excellence

This award is named after George Manuel, the influential Grand Chief who made a significant difference in how Indigenous people are considered at the National and International level. This award recognizes NEC graduates who excelled in successfully achieving higher post-secondary education

Academic Achievement

This award recognizes the accomplishments achieved by an NEC alumni member who has demonstrated outstanding academic performance from the most recent year of the program


This award is named after Chief Joe Mathias, the former Chief of Squamish Nation worked towards having Indigenous Rights and Title recognized by the federal and provincial governments. This award recognizes NEC graduates who exemplify leadership in their careers and communities.


This award is named after Gertrude Guerin, one of the founding members of NEC that began the organization with a vision to have a place for Indigenous people to begin their learning journey. This award recognizes a former NEC Board Member who strives toward empowering Indigenous people.